2011 APA Book Design Awards winners

The following titles were recognised at this year’s Australian Publishers Association Book Design Awards, presented on 19 May as part of the Sydney Writers Festival.

Best Designed Book of the Year Quay: Food Inspired by Nature (Peter Gilmore, Murdoch Books) designed by Reuben Crossman Best Designed Cover of the Year Hand Me Down World (Lloyd Jones, Text) cover designer W H Chong
Best Designed Children’s Cover of the Year The Staring Owl (Luke Edwards, Omnibus) cover designer Luke Edwards Best Designed Children’s Fiction Book The Midnight Zoo (Sonya Hartnett, Viking) Tony Palmer
Best Designed Children’s Non-fiction Book (joint winners)
Somme Mud: Younger Readers’ Edition (Will Davies, Random House) designer Liz Seymour, Seymour Design Wicked Warriors and Evil Emperors (Alison Lloyd, illus by Terry Denton, Puffin) designer Adam Laszczuk
Best Designed Children’s Picture Book The Tomorrow Book (Jackie French, HarperCollins) designer Natalie Winter Best Designed Children’s Series The ‘Moorehawke’ trilogy, Vols II & III (Celine Kiernan, A&U) designer Bruno Herfst & Elise Hurst
Best Designed Young Adult Book Graffiti Moon (Cath Crowley, Pan Macmillan) designer Melanie Feddersen of i2i Designs Best Designed Fiction Book Jasper Jones (Craig Silvey, A&U) cover designer Lisa White, internal designer Bookhouse
Best Designed Specialist Illustrated Book Mari Funaki: Objects (Jane Devery, NGV) designer Dirk Hiscock Best Designed Cookbook Quay: Food Inspired by Nature (Peter Gilmore, Murdoch Books) designer Reuben Crossman
Best Designed General Illustrated Book Shack (Simon Griffiths, Lantern) designer Allison Colpoys Best Designed Literary Fiction Book Hand Me Down World (Lloyd Jones, Text) designer W H Chong
Best Designed Non-fiction Book A Life in Frocks (Kelly Doust, Murdoch Books) designer Zoe Sadokierski Best Designed Reference & Scholarly Book ‘Pocket History’ series (various authors, Murdoch Books) designer Jenny Grigg
Best Designed Primary Education Book The Bug Club (various authors, Pearson) designer Kath Greenough, Lisa Austin Best Designed Secondary Education Book The Food Book (Leanne Compton, OUP) designer Regine Abos
Best Designed Tertiary and Further Education Book News as it Happens (Stephen Lamble, OUP) cover designer Regine Abos, internal designer Damage Design
Young Designer of the Year Emily O’Neill for Ape House (Sara Gruen, A&U), Journey to the Stone Country (Alex Miller, A&U), Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand (Helen Simonson, A&U), and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society (Mary Ann Shaffer & Annie Barrows, A&U).

The Joyce Thorpe Nicholson Hall of Fame Award, presented periodically to a designer whose work has made a significant contribution to book design in Australia, was awarded to Sandy Cull at this year’s ABA Book Design Awards. Cull has been working in publishing for over 20 years. She runs her book design company gogoGingko and is a multiple winner of the APA Best Designed Book of the Year Award.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *